Leszek Balcerowicz

Professor of Economics
Warsaw School of Economics


Dr. Balcerowicz is a professor of Economics at the Warsaw School of Economics (WSE), former Deputy Prime Minister, former Minister of Finance (1989-1991 and 1997-2001), and former President of the National Bank of Poland (2001-2007). He is the recipient of over thirty honours from universities and awards worldwide: such as the Ludwig Erhard Prize, Transatlantic Leadership Award, Central European Award for the Finance Minister of the Year 1998 in Central and Eastern Europe, Friedrich August von Hayek Prize, Carl Bertelsmann Prize, Fasel Foundation Prize, Leontief Prize, Jegor Gajdar Prize, and Milton Friedman Prize. He has been awarded with Poland's highest distinction - Order of the White Eagle - for his contribution to the reforms in Poland (2005). Leszek Balcerowicz is the author of more than 100 publications on economic issues in Poland and abroad. He is a member of the Group of Thirty, which was founded by Paul Volcker. In 2008-2012 Leszek Balcerowicz was appointed as chairman of Bruegel, subsequently appointed Honorary Chairman. He was a member of the High Level Expert Group on EU Financial Supervision chaired by Jacques de Larosiére. In 2009 he has been elected the President of International Atlantic Economic Society. In 2007 Leszek Balcerowicz created a free market think-tank in Poland for the Civil Development Forum Foundation.